Hameed Haroon, Sarmad Ali elected APNS President, Secy General


KARACHI, MAR 30 (DNA) –Hameed Haroon of Dawn Group and Sarmad of Jang Group were elected unopposed as the President and Secretary General of APNS, on Saturday.The other office bearers include Rameeza Majid Nizami as Senior Vice President, Mumtaz A. Tahir as Vice President, Syed Muhammad Munir Jilani as Joint Secretary and Shahab Zuberi as Finance Secretary of the Society for the year 2019-20.The Annual General Council held on March 30, 2019 under the Chairmanship of Hameed Haroon, President, unanimously approved the report of the Executive Committee for the preceding year as well as the Annual Accounts of the Society for the year 2018.

The General Council attended by 132 full members from across the country, formed an Election Commission headed by Javid Ahmed, Nasir Daad Baloch and Ali Bin Younus as members. The Election Commission conducted the election of the Executive Committee for the year 2019-20. Following were elected un-opposed:

Karachi Daily Seats:  Daily Aghaz, Daily Business Recorder, Daily Dawn, Daily Deyanat, Daily Jasarat and Daily Jiddat.

Lahore Daily Seats: Daily Abtak, Daily Jang, Daily Nawa-i-Waqt, Daily Pakistan and Daily Tijarat.

Rawalpindi/Islamabad Daily Seats:  Daily Ausaf, Islamabad and Daily Sahafat, Islamabad.

Balochistan Daily Seats:  Daily Awam, Quetta and Daily Mashriq, Quetta.

Khyber Pakhtoon Khwa Daily Seats: Daily Mashriq and  Daily Wahdat.

Sindh (Excluding Karachi) Dailies: Daily Kaleem, Sukkur and Daily Kawish, Hyderabad.

Punjab (excluding Lahore/Rwp/Ibd.):  Daily Aftab Multan,  Daily Business Report Faisalabad and Daily Paigham, Faisalabad.

General Seats (Metropolitan Dailies): Daily City 42, Lahore and Daily Pakistan Observer, Islamabad.

General Seats (Regional Dailies): Daily Ibrat and Daily Sayadat, Bahawalpur

Periodicals Seats: Monthly Centreline Islamabad, Monthly Naya Rukh Karachi, Monthly Naey Ufaq Karachi and Monthly Roohani Digest, Karachi.

News & News Comments Periodical (Punjab / KPK):  Weekly Nikhar, Islamabad

News & News Comments Periodical (Sindh / Balochistan): Weekly Al Akhbar, Karachi.

News & News Comments Periodicals (General): Monthly Women’s Own, Karachi.

The Executive Committee elected Fauzia Shaheen, Monthly Dastak, Karachi on woman – publishers seat and co-opted Daily Dunya on the vacant Lahore Daily Seat.

The Annual General Council elected Nasir Daad Baloch of Daily Sindh Sujaag, Karachi as member emirates.

The Annual General Council adopted the following Resolution unanimously.

“ The Annual General Council of the All Pakistan Newspapers Society hereby instructs the Executive Committee to take immediate action against any member of the APNS if he joins a body which lays claim to participation in APNS affairs particularly with respect to the conduct of advertising agencies, government advertising, recovery of dues against govt and private sector advertising, circulation arrears and any other area which is a legitimate interest of APNS.

The General Body authorizes the Executive Committee to take appropriate action against such member publication including expulsion from the membership of the Society”.

The General Council expressed its grave concern on the unprecedented crisis in the newspaper industry which has caused liquidity problem to all segments of print media, resulting in closure of many newspapers and unemployment of over thousands of journalists and media workers.

The Council stated that the consistent indifference of the Federal Government to bailout the newspaper industry would further aggravate the situation.

The General Council pointed out that the Federal and provincial governments have not paid the long outstanding bills of media despite various assurances and commitments.

The Council advised the new Executive Committee to take up the matter with the Federal and provincial governments and take appropriate steps for early recovery of the dues.

The newly elected Executive Committee appreciated the performance of the Election Commission.

The members gave standing ovation to the Office Bearers for the year 2018-19 for their hard work to solve the problems faced by member publications.=DNA