by-election: Imran Khan secures Peshawar constituency, maintains lead on 5 remaining seats up for grabs


ISLAMABAD, OCT 16: Pakistan Tehreek e Insaf Chairman Imran Khan emerged victorious in six of the seven constituencies that he was contesting from, with PPP’s Hakim Balouch edging over him in Malir’s NA-237.  Overall, PTI managed to grab six National Assembly seats and two Provincial Assembly seats, while PML-N could only win one provincial assembly seat.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan won the NA-31 Peshawar-V seat after beating ANP’s Ghulam Ahmed Bilour as unofficial results of eight National Assembly, and three Punjab Assembly constituencies pour in.

Khan bagged 57,824 to defeat his rival, according to unofficial results, with Bilour securing 32,253 votes — allowing the PTI chairman to win by more than 25,000 votes.

The counting of votes started at 5pm after the polling — which started at 8am — was held without interruptions despite intense political activity. Sporadic clashes were reported in some constituencies. On the eighth seat that Khan wasn’t contesting, PDM candidate Musa Ali Gillani emerged victorious, according to unofficial results.

There are eight National Assembly and three Punjab Assembly sets on

which the by-elections are being held. The National Assembly

constituencies are NA-22 (Mardan-III); NA-24 (Charsadda-II); NA-31

(Peshawar-V); NA-108 (Faisalabad-VIII); NA-118 (Nankana Sahib-II);

NA-237 (Malir-II); NA-239, (Korangi), Karachi-I; and NA 157 (Multan-IV).

The provincial constituencies are PP-139 (Sheikhupura-V); PP-209

(Khanewal VII); and PP-241 (Bahawalnagar-V).

Unofficial results of National Assembly seats are as follows: NA-22 Mardan-III: PTI Chairman Imran Khan defeated Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) candidate Muhammad Qasim .NA-24 Charsadda-II: Unconfirmed and unofficial results from 226 polling

stations show that PTI candidate Imran Khan will defeat ANP candidate.

NA-31 Peshawar-V: According to results from all polling stations, PTI Chairman Imran Khan easily defeated ANP Ghulma Ahmad Bilour.

NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII: Imran Khan defeated Abid Sher Ali, the nephew of Nawaz Sharif.

NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II: According to unofficial and preliminary results

PTI candidate Imran Khan was in the lead  while PML-N’s Shezra Mansab Ali trailed .

NA-237 Malir-II: PPPP candidate Abdul Hakeem Baloch was leading with

17,753 votes while PTI chief Imran Khan was behind. NA-239 Korangi: PTI candidate Imran Khan easily defeated MQM candidate. NA 157 Multan-IV: Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) candidate Ali Musa Gillani defeated PTI’s Meher Bano Qureshi who is daughter of Shah Mahmood Qureshi.

Unofficial results of Punjab Assembly seats are as follows:

PP-139 Sheikhupura-V: PML-N’s Chaudhry Iftikhar Ahmed Bhangoo was leading with 18,396 votes while PTI’s Muhammad Abu Bakr behind. PP-209 Khanewal VII: PTI candidate Faisal Khan Niazi defeated PML N candidate. PP-241 Bahawalnagar-V: PTI candidate Malik Muzaffar was well poised to register a win over his PML N opponent.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) said that overall, the polling process remained peaceful, and the commission’s central control room received 15 complaints of code violations.