Pakistan announces squads for upcoming Triangular & ODI series


LAHORE, (DNA) – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the squad for the upcoming tri-series against Zimbabwe and Australia.Squad was announced by the selection committee which was headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq after consultation with skipper Sarfraz Ahmed and coach Micky Arthur.Pakistan team takes on Zimbabwe and Australia and following the tri-series, the national team will play a 5-ODI series against the hosts.

The tri-series begins from 1st July and will end on the 8th of the same month whereas the 5-ODI series against Zimbabwe will commerce from 13th July, 2018.

Some noticeable changes have been made to the squad and perhaps the most prominent one is the inclusion of young opener Sahibzada Farhan, who is a part of Islamabad United team.

Selection Committee Remarks

On Sahibzada Farhan: Sahibzada Farhan has been selected in the T20I squad, whereas Mohammad Hafeez is selected in both T20I and ODI squad.

On Mohammad Hafeez: Hafeez will be available for the team as an all-rounder after his bowling action was cleared.

On Babar Azam: Azam was not considered for T20Is because of his injured forearm but it is hoped that he would be fit for ODIs.

On Asif Ali: Asif Ali has been included in the ODI squad to strengthen the lower middle-order while Junaid Khan and Yasir Shah will make a comeback in the ODI squad after successfully recovering from injuries.

Complete Squad Information

T20 Squad

Fakhar Zaman Muhammad Hafeez Shoaib Malik Asif Ali
Hussain Talat Sarfraz Ahmed (C)(WK) Haris Sohail Shadab Khan
Muhammad Nawaz Faheem Ashraf Hassan Ali Muhammad Amir
Usman Khan Shinwari Shaheen Shah Afridi Sahibzada Farhan

ODI Squad

Fakhar Zaman Imam-ul-Haq Muhammad Hafeez Shoaib Malik
Babar Azam (subject to fitness) Asif Ali Sarfraz Ahmed (C)(WK) Muhammad Nawaz
Shadab Khan Faheem Ashraf Muhammad Amir Junaid Khan
Usman Khan Shinwari Yasir Shah Hasan Ali Haris Sohail