By-elections 2018: Upset for PTI as PML-N gains big in Punjab


LAHORE, (DNA) – Unofficial results began to pour in on Sunday as officials counted vote for by-elections on 35 constituencies of National and provincial assemblies.Both the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) won four National Assembly seats each in the by-election. The PML-N also gained in Punjab.


The National Assembly constituencies where the by-elections were held included NA-35 Bannu, NA-53 Islamabad, NA-56 Attock, NA-60 Rawalpindi, NA-63 Rawalpindi, NA-65 Chakwal, NA-69 Gujrat, NA-103 Faisalabad, NA-124 Lahore, NA-131 Lahore and NA-243 Karachi East.

A total of 370 candidates contested the by-elections on 11 National Assembly seats.

NA-35 (Bannu)

According to unofficial results, Zahid Akram Durran of the Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal (MMA) won the by-election with 58,068 votes against PTI candidate Naseem Ali Shah.

NA-53 (Islamabad-2)

According to unofficial results, Ali Nawaz Awan of PTI won the by-election with 56,664 votes against PML-N candidate Waqar Ahmed.

NA-56 (Attock-2)

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Malik Sohail Khan won the by-election with 125,665 votes against Malik Khurram Ali Khan of PTI.

NA-60 (Rawalpindi)

According to unofficial results, Sheikh Rashid Shafeeq of PTI won the by-election with 44,483 votes against Sajjad Khan of PML-N.

NA-63 (Rawalpindi-7)

According to unofficial results, PTI candidate Mansoor Hayat Khan won the by-election with 64,042 votes against Aqeel Malik of PML-N.

NA-65 (Chakwal-2)

According to unofficial results, PML-Q candidate Chaudhry Salik Hussain won the by-election with 98,364 votes againt Muhammad Yaqoob of Tehreek-e-Labbaik.

NA-69 (Gujrat-2)

According to unofficial results, PML-Q candidate Moonis Elahi won the by-election with 61,723 votes against Imran Zafar of PML-N.

NA-103 (Faisalabad-3)

According to unofficial results, Ali Gohar Khan of PML-N won the by-election with 76,626 votes against Muhammad Saadullah of PTI.

NA-124 (Lahore-2)

According to unofficial results, former prime minister and PML-N leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi won the by-election with 75,012 votes against Ghulam Muhiuddin Dewan of PTI.

NA-131 (Lahore-9)

According to unofficial results, PML-N candidate Khawaja Saad Rafique won the by-election with 60,467 votes against Humayun Akhtar Khan of PTI.

NA-243 (Karachi East-2)

According to unofficial results, Muhammad Alamgir Khan of PTI won the by-election with 35,727 votes against Amir Waliuddin Chishtee of MQM-P.

ALSO READ: By-Elections: PM Imran, other politicians cast votes at different polling stations

Prime Minister Imran Khan cast his vote in NA-53 Islamabad, a seat among others he left to retain his paternal one. During his visit, strict security measures were in place.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) of Pakistan Sardar Muhammad Raza visited the election control room to receive briefing about complaints regarding polling for by-election.

During visit to control room, CEC was notified that a total of 10 complaints were received on the ECP hotline to which he instructed prompt action.

ALSO READ: By-elections: ECP sets up central control room at headquarters

The CEC was also informed about the statement of Pakistan Muslim League- Nawaz (PML-N) candidate from NA-131, Khawaja Saad Rafique.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) made the Results Transmission System (RTS) and Result Management System (RMS), operational for by-election 2018 while the instructions have were issued to relevant polling staff for by-election result.