PTI finalizes candidates for 272 NA seats


ISLAMABAD, (DNA) – : Following protests of workers over what they call ‘unjust’ distribution of tickets, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) revised and finalized a list of candidates who would be contesting the polls on PTI ticket in the general elections scheduled on July 25.The PTI candidates list also shows a large number of political leaders who recently defected to Tehreek-e-Insaf after quitting, the PML-N, PPP and other parties.

The process for finalization of tickets hit snags when thousands of the party workers staged a sit-in outside the Banigala residence of party chief Imran Khan in Islamabad insisting him to review tickets allotment decision especially in constituencies Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Punjab.

The PTI list shows that the party is fielding its candidates in 229 constituencies, out of 272 general seats of the National Assembly. The PTI has announced 90 candidates for 99 KP Assembly seats, 238 candidates for 297 Punjab Assembly seats, 79 candidates for 130 Sindh Assembly seats and 36 candidates for 51 Balochistan Assembly seats.

Following the tickets finalization process, a number of newcomers have succeeded in getting tickets.

Many newcomers succeed in gaining ticket; complaints in some cases addressed. Most of the protesting workers outside Khan’s residence in Islamabad belonged to Multan who were opposed to the awarding of ticket to Sikandar Bosan, who remained in the cabinet of former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi till he left the office on May 31.

The PTI’s list of the candidates shows that Sikandar Bosan has been awarded the ticket from NA-154 Multan-I.

Some of the prominent newcomers awarded the PTI tickets are Rashid Akbar Khan from NA-9 Buner; Omar Ayub Khan from NA-17 Haripur; Noor Alam Khan from NA-27 Peshawar-1, Tahir Sadiq from NA-55 and NA-56 Attock; Ghulam Abbas from NA-64 Chakwal-I; Dr Firdous Ashiq Awan from NA-72 Sialkot; Nazar Gondal from NA-86 Mandi Bahauddin; Nadeem Afzal Chan from NA-88 Sargodha-I; Fawad Chaudhry from NA-67 Jhelum-II; Riaz Fatiyana from NA-113 Toba Tek Singh; Ghulam Bibi Bharwana from NA-115 Jhang-II; Chaudhry Bilal Virk from NA-117 Nankana Sahib; Sardar Assef Ali from NA-137 Kasur-I; Chaudhry Nourez Shakoor from NA-147 Sahiwal; Ahmed Yar Hiraj from NA-151 Khanewal; Sardar Jaffar Leghari from NA-193 Rajanpur; Mohammadmian Soomro from NA-196 Jacobabad; Ramesh Kumar from NA-223 Matiari, Liaquat Jatoi from NA-234 Dadu, Farooq Azam Malik from NA-170 Bahawalpur-I; Makhdoom Khusro Bakhtyar from NA-176 and NA-177 Rahimyar Khan; Malik Ghulam Mus­tafa Khar from NA-181 Muzaffargarh-I; Zulfiqar Khosa from NA-190 Dera Ghazi Khan-III and Sardar Nasrullah Dreshak from NA-194 Rajanpur-II.